Per FTC regulations we are required to disclose that “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases” and other programs at no extra cost to you. Please refer to our Affiliate Disclosure for more information.
In Florida, no license is necessary when purchasing or carrying a self-defense device such as a stun gun or Taser for non felon adults.
Can you open carry a Taser in Florida?
You may open carry a nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun (Taser) or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.
Stun Gun Florida Definition
Per Florida statutes, an “electric weapon or device” means any device which, through the application or use of electrical current, is designed, redesigned, used, or intended to be used for offensive or defensive purposes, the destruction of life, or the infliction of injury.”
How old do you have to be to buy a stun gun in Florida?
You must be a legal adult to purchase a stun gun in the state of Florida.
You May Not Possess a Stun Gun or Taser:
- You have convicted of a felony in the courts of Florida.
- You have committed a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult and such person is under 24 years of age;
- Convicted of or found to have committed a crime against the United States which is designated as a felony;
- Found to have committed a delinquent act in another state, territory, or country that would be a felony if committed by an adult and which was punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year and such person is under 24 years of age; or
- Found guilty of an offense that is a felony in another state, territory, or country and which was punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year. See Fla. Stat. § 790.23 (2019)
Any minor under the age of 16 years is prohibited unless such use is under the supervision and in the presence of an adult who is acting with the consent of the minor’s parent.
It is illegal to possess a stun gun on the grounds or facilities of any school, school bus, or school bus stop, or within 1,000 feet of the real property that comprises a public or private elementary school, middle school, or secondary school, during school hours or during the time of a sanctioned school activity unless for self defense.
Illegal Use of a Stun Gun in Florida
If any person having or carrying any … electric weapon or device, or other weapon shall, in the presence of one or more persons, exhibit the same in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense, the person so offending shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree.