Is Pepper Spray Legal in Nevada?
Per FTC regulations we are required to disclose that “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases” and other programs at no extra cost to you. Please refer to our Affiliate Disclosure for more information.
Pepper spray is to legal to carry in Nevada as a self defense weapon. But there are some restrictions on its use. Maximum cartridge size is 2 fluid ounces in the form of an aerosol spray which is designed and intended for use as an instrument of self-defense.
Felons may not own or employ defense sprays in Nevada, and its illegal to use pepper spray in the commission of a crime, and/or use pepper spray on a law enforcement officer.
Additionally, some municipalities in Nevada have their own laws regarding pepper spray, so it is important to check with local authorities for specific regulations. It is also important to note that pepper spray is considered a deadly weapon and as such, carrying it in a concealed manner in prohibited unless you have a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon.
You can buy Pepper Spray on Amazon.
Is Pepper Spray Legal in Las Vegas?
Pepper spray is legal to possess and use in Las Vegas, Nevada. However, it is illegal to use pepper spray in the commission of a crime, and there may be restrictions on the size or strength of pepper spray that can be possessed.
Additionally, it is illegal to carry pepper spray on school grounds or in public buildings. You should check with local authorities for specific regulations on pepper spray in Las Vegas or other cities in Nevada.
Nevada Pepper Spray Laws
NRS 202.370 to 202.440 are sections of Nevada Revised Statutes that pertain to the possession and use of tear gas, shells, cartridges or bombs.
According to these statutes, it is illegal to possess or use any tear gas, shell, cartridge or bomb with the intent to commit a crime. It is also illegal to possess, manufacture, transport, or sell any tear gas, shell, cartridge or bomb without a valid permit from the local sheriff or chief of police.
The statutes also state that any person who uses any tear gas, shell, cartridge or bomb for any purpose other than self-defense or the defense of others is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 10 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.
It is important to note that these laws may change over time, and it is always best to check with local authorities or an attorney for the most current information.